The arthur c. clarke award

the uk's premier prize for science fiction literature

Winner 2018: Dreams before the start of time by Anne Charnock (UK) (US)


The annual Arthur C. Clarke Award is given for the best science fiction novel first published in the United Kingdom during the previous year. The award was established with a generous grant given by Sir Arthur C. Clarke and the first prize was awarded in 1987 to Margaret Atwood’s The Handmaid’s Tale.

The award is currently closed for submissions. If you're interested in submitting titles for the 2019 round of submissions please
Get in touch!


The winner of this year's Arthur C. Clarke Award will be announced in July. If you're interested in submitting titles first published in 2019 for the next round of the prize please contact award director Tom Hunter.

For the Clarke Award newsletter please sign up here